>Make my garden grow

Posted: June 5, 2011 in garden

>This is embarrassing, but when I was a kid 5th grade I liked to watch the Mighty Morphin Power Rangers!  Bahah!  My favorite part was when the evil lady who lived in the mountain/cave would make her monsters bigger by yelling, “Make my monster grow!” 


Is anybody with me?  At least I know my mom is laughing!  

Make my monster GROW!

Well when I spend time in my garden that’s what my crazy brain thinks.  “Make my garden grow!”  I hope it works.


Today is wonderful Sunday.  I had a split cereal bowl of Kashi Go Lean and Fiber One Honey Oat clusters with blueberries and almond milk.  This cereal had to be savored, because tomorrow Kyle and I are partaking in a tightening up of our diet. (blog to come today with details)  Bread and processed carbs are OUT for at least 2 weeks….so….this is my last dance with cereal for a while.

I will miss you cereal. Maybe on my cheat days.

I also enjoyed a peaceful cup of coffee in my new Wounded Warrior project mug.  Plus, there were some great coupons in today’s paper.  BOGO MetRx protein bar…don’t mind if I do!



Then I went out to give some love to my garden.  If any of you know about gardening (because I sure don’t) please post some advice in the comments section.


It was HOT out there!  I mean sweat down my face hot!  It was sooo hot that Asia didn’t even cry to go outside!  That’s news, people!

No thanks, Mom.  I’m fine here.



I have 2 tomatoes, 2 peppers (one bell, one Mexibell), mint, basil, rosemary, parsley, and green onions.  My herbs are doing quite well.  Yeah basil!



I have several green tomatoes I am anxiously awaiting to turn red.  One did have a little hole in it and I’m hoping (fingers crossed) that bugs aren’t getting to them.  Any remedies to ward them off?


I also trimmed down some taller branches from my tomato and replanted them in my makeshift garden bed.  I was told it was okay to trim down the tall parts of the tomato….is this right or wrong?  I’m really hoping these plants workout so I can save $$ on produce at the store.

The droopy ones are the transplant tomatoes.

Any thoughts on what else grows well in this Florida heat and drought?


For the rest of my Sunday there’s grocery shopping, laundry, school work, more blogging, and some NBA finals.  I think I’m pulling for the Mavs.  You?


Love and 90’s superheroes, 
Carissa & Kyle

Comments
  1. Michelle says:

    >I used to watch Power Rangers too. haha I don't know anything about gardening, but your plants look pretty!

  2. >Hooray! I'm not alone in my Power Rangers watching. I still have a Power Rangers Christmas stocking! haha!

Leave a comment