Healthy Enchilada Casserole

Posted: January 20, 2012 in recipes

Technically it’s called chilaquiles casserole…but thinking in terms of blogging and SEO I didn’t know how well “chilaquiles” would google! Are ya with me?


Before we get down to the recipe can I please point out that it’s Friday and I’m still sore from the filthy fifty workout on Monday!  I did run 5 miles and lift today but I am not back to 100%.  That workout is NASTY!


Tonight I had my first ever meeting with the Orlando Dietetic Association.  ODA is a branch of the Florida Dietetic Association which is a branch of the Academy of  Nutrition and Dietetics formerly the American Dietetic Association. They meet twice monthly so I thought it was a good thing to get on board now with the great group of dietitians. 
They talked about traditional meeting things, we had a healthy dinner buffet style (that I didn’t photograph), and we heard a wildly intelligent speaker.  
Her name was Rikki Keen and she’s a MS, RD, CSSD, CSUS. Lots of initials = genius! She’s a sports dietitian who lives in Alaska and works at ESPN’s Wide World of Sports too.  She talked about supplements and science for optimal performance.  She made a lot of great points that I’ll recap soon, but I want to point out that she was passionate about the benefits of a drink called FRS and the quercetin in it. 

Apparently Tim Tebow likes it too. 

On the radar for tomorrow is a lot of studying for my upcoming LifeCycle nutrition final and a bike ride to get my legs ready for the half marathon Sunday.


And finally..gosh I was wordy today…the recipe!  
This is basically a deconstructed enchilada.  I think it’s easier to make and like my lasagna it makes great leftovers.  You could use a green or red sauce and sneak in as many veggies as you like! This recipe is originally adapted from Eating Well.

Healthy Enchilada Casserole:

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 tablespoon EVOO
  • 1 package chicken breasts, cooked and shredded
  • 1 medium onion, diced
  • 1 medium zucchini, diced
  • 2 19-ounce cans black beans, rinsed
  • 1 14-ounce can diced tomatoes, drained
  • 1 1/2 cups corn, frozen (thawed) or fresh
  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1 package Goya Sazon seasoning (optional)
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 12 corn tortillas, quartered
  • 1 19-ounce can mild red or green enchilada sauce
  • 1 1/4 cups shredded reduced-fat Cheddar cheese (optional)

  • PREPARATION

    Pre-baking
    1. Preheat oven to 400°F. Lightly coat a 9-by-13-inch baking pan with cooking spray.
    2. Use poached or crock-pot cooked chicken breasts. Shred chicken.
    3. Heat oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add onion and cook, stirring often, until starting to brown, about 5 minutes. Stir in zucchini, beans, tomatoes, corn, cumin, Goya, and salt and cook, stirring occasionally, until the vegetables are heated through, about 3 minutes.
    4. Scatter half the tortilla pieces in the pan. Top with half the vegetable mixture, half the enchilada sauce and half the cheese. Repeat with one more layer of tortillas, vegetables, sauce and cheese. Cover with foil.
    5. Bake the casserole for 15 minutes. Remove the foil and continue baking until the casserole is bubbling around the edges and the cheese is melted, about 10 minutes more.
    And now my friends…time for me to hit the books!  Make it a great one!
    Have you ever tried or heard about FRS?
    Love and calculating calories needs,

    Carissa & Kyle

Comments
  1. I loooove Mexican anything. It's so easy to make healthier at home, too, so we do it a lot in our house. Your casserole looks delicious. I love cumin–it's my favorite spice–I will have to look for that Goya seasoning you mentioned.

  2. yay for dietetics meetings. i think we have one coming up soon too 🙂

  3. fancy nancy says:

    This looks great!!! Heading over from Friday's link love!! So glad I did!

  4. Alexis says:

    Looks yummy..when r u making it for me? Also I havent tried frs but I have coupons hahaha

Leave a Reply

