But I CAN run

Posted: January 19, 2012 in race training

I have a half marathon on Sunday. Win.
I sprained my ankle 3 weeks ago and have only ran 8 miles since then. Fail.
I was training hard to PR. Win.
My endurance and speed dropped since my injury. Fail.


I went out on a 5 mile run on Tuesday to lightly test my ankle and give my legs some energy for the race on Sunday.  My ankle didn’t hurt except for a little bit at mile 4.  That’s a good thing.  

The bad thing was that my endurance just wasn’t there.  I was trying to push and “go fast” but 3 out of the 5 miles were above the pace I would need to reach my half marathon goal time.
When I run my thoughts are all over the place.  I’m in my head counting pace and calculating speeds.  I’d be thrilled on the fast miles and then feel defeated on the long ones.  
By the end mile 5 the reality that I probably wouldn’t make my goal time set in.  I know there’s race day adrenaline, but the race has 4 steep bridge climbs people. FOUR!
Truly I was bummed for about a half mile, but then I found a new perspective.  I may not run as fast as I wanted to on Sunday, but I CAN run! I can physically power myself over 13.1+ miles with my legs.  My injury helped me see what a beautiful thing that was.  It was so frustrating to be sitting in the airport in a wheelchair waiting for someone to come push me.  It felt so helpless…but today I can run.  And I think that’s a gift.

Kyle and some of his clients after a 5k

The injury was definitely disappointing and it’s the first one I’ve had in many years (besides my neck which is more chronic then acute). There are other races. Do I want to have to re-do all those nasty repeat 800’s I did?  No. But I will.  And I’ll hate them all over again. But then I’ll remember how good it feels to run and that I can run. 

Kyle’s client Rafael finishing another half marathon!

Mark my words – someday I’ll finish a half marathon with a 1 in front of my time instead of a 2.  

2011 Half – 2:06

Will it be Sunday? Will it be this year? Who knows. But as long as I can run I’ll be fighting and that is something worth feeling good about.


Love and inclines,
Carissa & Kyle

Comments
  1. I think you should relish in the fact that, yes, you can run. Enjoy the race: course, scenery, people, and the exercise. Train and run hard the next time. Some of my most memorable races are those that I enjoyed the experience instead of pushing for time. I high-fived people, encouraged others, coached a girl from mile 12 to the finish of her first marathon, and crossed the finish with a huge smile on my face instead of being glad it was over. Good luck Sunday! I look forward to hearing about it. (I, too, am training hard for my first sub-2 half.)

  2. I have no doubt you will and like you said, focus on that you can run. 🙂

  3. glad you found a new positive perspective because you are amazing. keep running girl!

  4. Thanks for the positive feedback! I'm just looking forward to being out there and running! Plus my post-race meal! 🙂

  5. Girl you are going to rock it! Whether or not you PR it doesn't matter … the feeling you have at the finish is still awesome 🙂 Way to put things in perspective.

  6. BamaBelle says:

    Good luck Sunday! I am in awe that you can run a half-marathon!! My goal is to do a 5k this year 🙂

Leave a Reply

