Skinny Italian Turkey Lasagna

Posted: October 20, 2011 in recipes

I may not be Italian. And I don’t think I’d ever refer to myself as “skinny”. I prefer “fit”. 

But if Teresa from Real Housewives coined the term “skinny Italian” for her book, then I’d like to give it a run for its money with the fantastic and HEALTHY turkey lasagna I made this week.

If I didn’t have 2 herniated discs in my neck then I would totally give myself a pat on the back.

This lasagna uses lean ground turkey, whole wheat noodles, and part-skim ricotta.

I also make my own sauce, since jarred sauces have a ton of added sugar, and I sneak zucchini into the sauce for extra veggie power! 

For best results allow the sauce to simmer 1-2 hours.

Skinny Italian Turkey Lasagna

  • 1lb Jenny-O Lean Ground Turkey
  • 1 zucchini diced
  • 1 white onion diced
  • 2T garlic
  • 1 15 oz can Muir Glen crushed tomatoes
  • 1 small can Muir Glen tomato sauce
  • EVOO
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 3T oregano
  • 1T red pepper flakes
  • 2T Italian seasoning
  • 1T garlic powder
  • 1T onion powder
  • 1t salt
  • fresh ground pepper
  • 15 oz part-skim ricotta cheese
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup fresh chopped parsley
  • 1/4 cup shredded Italian cheese
  • 9 whole wheat lasagna noodles – uncooked
  • Additional shredded Italian cheeses to top  lasagna (if desired)
  • Fresh parsley to garnish
Directions:
  • Dice zucchini and cook in a skillet coated with Pam.  While the zucchini softens add the crushed tomato, tomato sauce, water, and all the spices to a different large pot.  Adjust seasonings to taste.  Bring to a simmer.
  • Add softened zucchini to tomato sauce.
  • Sauté onions and garlic in a little EVOO until tender.  Add turkey to the same pan and cook until no longer pink breaking it up into the smallest pieces you can.
  • Add turkey and onion mixture to tomato sauce.  Simmer on low 1-2 hours. Adjust spices as needed.
  • In a bowl beat 2 eggs.  Add ricotta, shredded cheese, parsley, salt, and pepper.  Mix well.
  • Using a 9×13 pan begin the lasagna forming process.  
  • Cover bottom of the pan with 1 cup sauce. Layer 3 noodles.  Top with sauce then add 1/2 ricotta mixture.  Add 3 noodles. Top with sauce then add the remaining ricotta mixture evenly.  Top with 3 noodles and top with remaining sauce. Add additional shredded cheese on the top. I don’t add a lot of cheese, because I find it doesn’t add that much flavor compared to the extra calories.
  • Cover with foil and bake in a 350 degree oven for 50 minutes
  • Remove foil and bake an additional 10 minutes or broil to achieve desired “browness” on cheese.  I like browned cheese…when I eat cheese.
  • Let cool.
  • Top with fresh parsley and enjoy
Lasagna also makes amazing leftovers that I always look forward to come lunch time!
I may not be Italian, but I am a true Real Housewife of Healthy Living! 
What’s your favorite healthified comfort food?

Love and “that’s amore”,
Carissa & Kyle
Comments
  1. Yum! Turkey and veggie lasagna for sure or protein grilled cheese from the Double Delicious cookbook.

  2. Rissy says:

    wow you go girl! that looks delicious and guilt freeI'm a big fan of sliced apples with an appropriate amount of peanut butter : )

  3. that looks delicious! my favorite healthified comfort food..hmmm… i love my mom's chicken noodle soup! very comforting and always healthy!

Leave a Reply

