What I Ate Wednesday v10.0 – Free Outback!

Posted: August 31, 2011 in dietetics, dining out, school, wiaw

I feel like I have a lot to cover this Wednesday.  So let’s just dive right in!


Welcome to WIAW created by Jen over at Peas & Crayons. It’s basically a one-day blogging food journal.  Why so much to cover?  Today was the first day we cooked in my Fundamentals of Food class (for those of you who are new I’m in school to become a Registered Dietitian). Plus we went out to eat so there’s much food photos today.  Enjoy! Here’s a look at past WIAW:version one, two, threefourfivesixseveneightnine.

8am – standard driving to school breakfast.  Coffee with peppermint creamer (dreaming of the holidays) and a berry, flax seed, oatmeal, spinach, and HEMP protein shake.  More on the hemp this week!

1130am- Whole wheat penne with sauteed yellow squash, tomatoes, garlic, and a “pesto”.

        – This was our first cooking class project. As dietitians we may have to work in or supervise a kitchen, therefore we have to know how to cook and prepare a multitude of foods. Today we made butterscotch corn starch pudding and the pasta.  

Here’s where things went south on the pasta.  It was supposed to have a pesto sauce.  I’ve made pesto before, so I know the drill..EXCEPT we didn’t have pine nuts OR fresh basil. Come again?  How can we make pesto out of that?  

I’m laughing because I’m making pesto with dried basil. And it’s not going well.

We improvised with EVOO, garlic, some dry basil, fresh parmesan cheese, and some parsley.  Let me just say that our breath was NOT fresh after this class!
1pm- apple230pm- Rotisserie chicken “salad” made using Marie’s Cole Slaw dressing, roasted okra, and a Mississippi sweet potato with cinnamon

A little run went down in anticipation of football season parties and dinner out tonight.  3 miles all under 9 minute pace!  I’m a happy girl!  It was a little (like a tiny bit little) cooler today and my body was so happy!  Look at me go! 🙂

615pm- a Farmer’s Market Georgia Peach – bought in Georgia!

8pm- Dinner at Outback!        – So why the crazy mid-week rush to Outback?  See my husband is lucky and last year he won Free Outback for a YEAR!  Yes really!  So we have 2 $25 gift certificates to use each month.  We give some away, but we like to enjoy this free meal too. Since August is coming to an end we had to get there fast.

We started off the meal with some well-spiced, yet tiny, grilled shrimp. 

I had my weakness – the wedge salad (no bacon, dressing on the side)!  Balsamic glaze, blue cheese, and nutritionally void lettuce – yes please!  I was so happy to eat it that I forgot to take a pic.  My bad!

Dinner was my Outback standard – grilled chicken and dry green beans.  Half was saved for leftovers.

Wow!  What a day of eating!  I feel like I’ve been around the world on my plate.  I like the amount of fruits and veggies I had today.  Nutrient score.
Have you guys ever won any contests?
Love and NO RULES just right,Carissa & Kyle

Comments
  1. owlmazing says:

    That's awesome that you are becoming a registered dietician! haha way to improvise on that pesto! The only contest I ever won was a twin contest in grade 2! My best friend and I dressed up as cowgirls and ended up winning cow magnets. I felt like the luckiest girl alive 😉

  2. I have really been in the mood for chicken salad lately. I'm jealous yet inspired. I think I'll be enjoying some Friday.

  3. Charissa says:

    Haha, what a daaahling pic of you in the scrubs! You make a cute nurse!As for contests, (grin) I won yours! 😉 And a few others…so much fun!

  4. Miss Smart says:

    Why is a huge wedge of lettuce so insanely satisfying at times? I don't get it…but I like it.And yum! Georgia peaches remind me of visiting my grandparents in Georgia summers growing up.

Leave a Reply

