Take Me Out to the Ball Park

Posted: August 23, 2011 in date night, travel


/* Style Definitions */
table.MsoNormalTable
{mso-style-name:”Table Normal”;
mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0;
mso-tstyle-colband-size:0;
mso-style-noshow:yes;
mso-style-parent:””;
mso-padding-alt:0in 5.4pt 0in 5.4pt;
mso-para-margin-top:0in;
mso-para-margin-right:0in;
mso-para-margin-bottom:10.0pt;
mso-para-margin-left:0in;
mso-pagination:widow-orphan;
font-size:12.0pt;
font-family:”Times New Roman”;
mso-ascii-font-family:Cambria;
mso-ascii-theme-font:minor-latin;
mso-fareast-font-family:”Times New Roman”;
mso-fareast-theme-font:minor-fareast;
mso-hansi-font-family:Cambria;
mso-hansi-theme-font:minor-latin;}

Take Me Out to the Ball Game!
Sunday morning Kyle and I woke up bright and early at 5am to start our vacation! Our driving food consisted of coffee, smoothies, home oatmeal cookies, pulled chicken sandwiches, apples, and snow peas.

6.5 hours later we arrived in the ATL.  Our first order of the business was a good ‘ole American baseball game.  The Atlanta Braves vs. the NL West leading Arizona Diamondbacks.
This was Kyle’s first trip to the newer Turner Field.  We were at the game early, so we got some time to tour the stadium.  I was very happy to see an entire Gluten Free food stand. I was also happy to see that my program book featured Braves All Star pitcher (and brother of my friend An’Marie) Jonny Venters!

We settled on some peanuts and a giant Coca-Cola to start the game.  Hey, this is Atlanta..I HAD to drink the Coke…right! 
That Coke bottle is an LCD screen- pretty awesome!

They don’t call it HOT-lanta for nothin’! Wowza!  We spent 9 innings in the sun and my knees have the sunburn to prove it!

The game featured great pitching by Tim Hudson and an inning of work by Jonny Venters! 
Huddy
JV

Yes, I am a Braves fan and yes, I am wearing a Red Sox shirt.  I love the Red Sox, but I like the Braves too.  They’re Kyle’s fave, the team of the South, and I spent several years working for the Braves in Spring Training. 
A “brave” Red Sox fan!
Midway through the game we needed some lunch. Kyle had a hot dog and I went for chicken tenders and fries.  I didn’t want fries, but apparently they come as a pair…so I ate them.  What a healthy meal, huh!  I had a V8 as soon as we got to the hotel! 

Did I mention it was hot?  Who cares! It was a great day of baseball, Braves won, and I got to spend it with my husband!
ps- the old man behind us told Kyle he needed a hat! 
Braves win!
Love and foul balls,
Carissa & Kyle

Comments
  1. I love watching baseball games live! Though have never watched it on TV. We have tics to see Anaheim Angels next week :)I always get a hot dog a the games! I feel like it is a requirement! haha

  2. Kelsey says:

    thanks to your beautiful photos, i feel like i was there too! such a fun day 🙂 🙂

Leave a Reply

