Guest Post- Vegan Chocolate Coconut Pudding

Posted: August 20, 2011 in guest posts, recipes

Since Kyle and I are enjoying our week off together I put together a great guest post for you guys to enjoy.  Thank you so much to Charissa for helping me out and please check out her blog at Colourful Palate. She has a recipe for a quinoa chicken salad I can’t wait to try.

Hey guys! I’m Charissa from Colourful Palate and I’m happy that I can do a guest post here for you today!  First of all, just wanted to say I’m honored to be on Carissa’s site (how fun is it to find another blogging “Carissa!” Who knew?) I love the fact she and her hubcap are totally into this health and fitness thing together…it totally inspires me!

Since chocolate is obviously a big part of my happiness factor I really love, love including it in some of my recipes! Here is one of my favourites…the vegan chocolate coconut pudding!

When I first made this dessert, a big family dinner was on the agenda. My contribution was supposed to be dessert. My brother, sister-in-law, and their children stay away from gluten, and my Dad can’t eat gluten or dairy, and then there’s me, who avoids cow’s milk (unless there’s some serious milk chocolate cravings involved!). I felt like being creative and making something up, but I wasn’t quite sure about doing a dessert for the whole family and then discovering it didn’t turn out. Thinking about it, I unquestionably wanted to make a dessert with chocolate (duh, such a no brainer!) and coconut. I decided to brave it without a recipe and make a dairy-free, cooked pudding…with a twist.
Happily, it turned out just as I wished and my family and I thoroughly enjoyed it!

This is a slightly firmer pudding and I think it tastes best when just warm, but is still delicious if you let it set on the counter or in the fridge for an hour. It all depends if you like hot or cold puddings. Some of my family topped it off with something slightly sinful; ice-cream or a whipped topping. I tried to make this recipe as healthy as possible, but ended up adding just one naughty ingredient…1/2 cup sugar (but it’s organic, doesn’t that like…sanctify everything?!). But since this recipe serves 8 people, it doesn’t end up being that much sugar per person anyway.
Chocolate Coconut Pudding
1 can coconut milk*
3 ½ cups cold almond milk
7 tbsp. cornstarch
9 tbsp. dark cocoa
½ cup organic sugar
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
Pinch of sea salt
*I used AROY-D coconut milk
Heat up the first 5 ingredients until boiling. Let it boil for 1-3 minutes. By then, it should be thick. Stir in the vanilla and sea salt. Pour into 8 dessert bowls. Garnish with a sprinkling of shaved coconut. That’s it! I love this recipe because it’s so quick to whip up, tastes so creamy and chocolaty, it’s a lot healthier than store-bought puddings, and serves lots of people.
Come visit me at Colourful Palate for more desserts and healthy recipes that taste indulgent (when they’re quite low in calories!). It’s where I share my passion for a healthy lifestyle, my love for whole foods, fitness, running, and my favourite “keep you slim” recipes.

Nutritional Info (per serving): Cals: 190, Fat: 10g, Sodium: 106.5mg, Carbs: 23g, Fibre: 1g, Sugar: 13g, Protein: 1.5g

Leave a Reply

