I got a Garmin!

Posted: July 30, 2011 in cardio, races

Yes!  I finally got a Garmin!  My running superpowers have been optimized!


I am a saver and not a spender, so it took me a long while to finally get a Garmin.  I was using the RunKeeper app on my phone, but now that I’m “thinking” about running a sub-2 hour half I needed something more accurate for my interval/tempo work.  Kyle, who hates cardio, even supported my Garmin purchase.  What a sweet husband! (I got it on Amazon for $130 with free shipping)

After some research I went with the Garmin 305 with the heart rate monitor.  I looked at the newer model, however I didn’t need the extras that it offered and I had read so many great reviews about the 305 that I stuck with it.  I’m very happy to have a heart rate monitor.  I want to learn more about how heart rate affects your training, stamina, weight loss, etc so this is a good way to start! For those of you not familiar, the Garmin Forerunner is a GPS device that tracks your pace and location while you run. 


I was so excited to run when I went to bed last night.  Enter DOMS.  Delayed onset muscle soreness.  Kyle killed me in a workout yesterday so I was quite sore.  


After a leisurely breakfast of coffee and a cereal bowl with Kashi Go Lean, Honey Nut Cheerios (free sample), chia seeds, raisins, and almond milk…I was ready to go!

Good things: I had my Garmin and I was ready to run
Bad things:  It was 94 degrees. It was sunny.  It was 94 degrees.

Muy caliente.  

Oh well.  Me and the Garmin were off.  I settled on a 3 mile trip today.  

I “think” I’m running a half marathon as I said before.  I usually try to do one 1/2 marathon each fall/winter.  I’ve never run for time, but I’m really motivated to do a sub 2 hour half.  Problem is that I work so much on weekends in the fall and winter that I’m having trouble finding a race to do.  I’m in no way complaining…I LOVE my work especially hosting races.  However that is why right now I’m training for a “phantom” half marathon.  There is one with 1st weekend of November that seems possible and if that doesn’t work I’m into 2012.  Thoughts?


Today’s run was 3.01 miles with a pace of 9:16.  Not too shabby for me!


Now I’m off to do a little studying, couponing, and then work.


Do you have a Garmin?  If not what device do you train with?


Don’t forget to enter our LaraBar giveway before Monday night to get 5 Larabar(s) mailed to you!


Love and laps,
Carissa & Kyle

Comments
  1. Linz says:

    thank you for this post! i am asking for a garmin for my upcoming birthday and i am pretty set on the 305. however, whenever i do feel "set" i feel like i hear good things about other models. so thanks for confirming my original plan! 🙂 🙂 can't wait for updates with how it is! 🙂

  2. tamara says:

    I have a heart meter by Sharper Image….its suppose to tell me the calories I burn as well….however it came with a book of instructions and I have yet to figure out how to use all the options other then telling time.

  3. Victoria says:

    I love, love, love my Garmin. You'll never run without it again!

  4. I need a Garmin SO bad – my husband has a crazy one that he used in Afghanistan that is just too complicated for me so I have been looking at the 305 too!I love that you said you had to coupon – I do too! Except I am super behind in clipping. LOL

  5. The 305 was so easy to use and get the software on the computer. I can't wait to run again…maybe tomorrow! My sunday paper is sitting on the counter…gotta get those coupons!

Leave a Reply

