>2011 Central Florida Blogger Conference

Posted: July 17, 2011 in bloggers, dining out, motivation

>

I love Journey. I walked down the aisle to a strings version of “Don’t Stop Believing”. True story. Today could be described by “Open Arms“. 


What I mean is this….I am a newbie blogger. I am just learning how to share our passion for healthy living with the online world. 


Today I attended the Central Florida Bloggers Conference. I was nervous at first, but blown away by how warm and welcoming all our O-town bloggers were. You could say that they welcomed me with…you guessed it…open arms!

Awesome bloggers, awesome women!

I’m happy to say that today was a success! (once I got there- my Navigation was not so hot today!)
I learned a lot about growing our blog (and I hope I can implement all I learned).  My twitter followers grew…yeah! (@CarissaAnneB @Fit2Flex do it).  And I became part of the Orlando FitBlogger community!
GPS I can’t turn into a brick wall!

I was especially excited to meet and connect with other bloggers I admire.  By this I mean- Julie, Meghann, Christie, Mora, Michelle, Carolina and Victoria. Please check out their blogs, you will LOVE them!

Wanna be blogger?  Lizard in the bathroom!

The day started with a fantastic and motivating speaker Marc Middleton of Growing Bolder.  Those of you from Orlando may recognize him as a former sports anchor for WESH 2. He was my favorite speaker. Here are some of the “gems” I took away from his presentation:

  • Life is a series of leaps or should be.
  • How to attract creativity? Fearlessness, hard work, persistence
  • How to succeed?  Eliminate the option not to.  (my fave)

I wanted to share Marc’s wisdom with you because I think its very relatable. 


If you want to run a marathon, if you want to lose 30 pounds, if you want to write a successful blog, if you want to achieve anything…the only way to get there is to TRY!  Don’t be afraid to fail. Don’t let that fear hold you back. The only way you will certainly fail is…if you don’t try. Commit to a goal and grow in that journey. If the roads gets bumpy, you know what to do…“Don’t Stop Believing”!


Today was a great day and it only fired me up more to grow my blog and share my passion.  Bloggers are really wonderful people who genuinely want other bloggers to succeed to. 


I also had my first food truck experience too.   Can you believe it?  Big Wheel Truck fed all the bloggers.  They are well-trained chefs who use fresh, local ingredients. I tried to make healthy choices and opted for the curried chicken thigh and local green salad.  The salad was so good!  They had tamarind scallions which tasted like I was eating at Kobe! 🙂



Great food, great people, great event!  Thanks to Bess for putting it all on.

I have a nametag.

For the bloggers out there- what’s the best “blogging” advice you have?


Love and taking risks, 
Carissa & Kyle

Comments
  1. >So great to meet you, happy we got to put a face with a name. Here's to the next conference & getting the fitbloggers together soon!

  2. >It was really nice to meet you ! I was really glad to meet up with local fitbloggers and hope we can all do it again. The conference really was wonderful and I learned a ton.

  3. >It was so great meeting with you (you are adorable and have a SLAMMING body – damn girl). I wish we had chatted more. PLEASE let me know if you end up doing any group runs or fitness events – I would love to join.Ew about the lizard in the bathroom – guess I missed that!!I love Marc's presentation too. And every word it was the truth!

  4. Victoria says:

    >Yeah! great recap! It was great to meet you. I hope we can meet up in the future soon!! I'll let you know when I'm on the trail next! 🙂

  5. >Ladies- you are all so fab! Thanks for being so sweet to me yesterday and sharing the blog love. I'd love to plan a run/meet up. And Victoria please let me know if you come to any yoga places in Winter Garden/Windermere…I'm there!

  6. >It was fantastic meeting you! I have to make another trip down to Orlando soon to meet up with all of my new blogging friends!!! 🙂

  7. Mara Shorr says:

    Carissa, So great to meet you last week! I'm sorting through business cards and getting sidetracked by your blog right now… I love it!

  8. Hey Mara- so glad you found the blog! Keep in touch!!!

Leave a comment