>Red, White, and Blueberry Salad

Posted: June 28, 2011 in cardio, recipes

>Yesterday evening was a gloomy one in Orlando.  Still hot, but gloomy-ish.  We need the rain so I was more than thankful.

Monday is usually salad & sprints night.  Kyle and I both strength train on Monday. We also aim to run sprints at night before a salad for dinner.  However with the rain…a “tiny” part of me was hoping it would keep going and foil my running intentions.  Yes, sometimes I’m weak.


Well the skies weren’t clear, but they were dry.  So I laced up my pink Nike’s and we hit the road.  Kyle does not have pink Nike’s. That would be weird  If you want to know, he has red and gray Under Armour’s.


Monday’s sprints were (a little too) short and sweet.


In and Out:

  • 3 minute warm up
  • 15 second sprint, 45 second recovery x 5
  • 2 minute cool down
I was feeling patriotic in the salad department.  I was also remembering the advice of most Food Network chefs which is to “cook what’s in season”.  Well berries are in season AND they’re on sale.  Double win for me!
Toasting my pecans for enhanced flavor
Goat cheese with berries on rice cakes/wasa

Red, White, and Blueberry Salad
  • Baby spinach
  • Publix rotisserie chicken salad
  • Blueberries
  • Red pear
  • Walnuts (which I pre-toasted)
  • Sweet yellow and orange pepper
  • English Cucumber
  • Goat cheese
  • Fresh cracked pepper
  • Homemade balsamic vinaigrette   
I even made my own homemade vinaigrette (btw- how hard is it to spell that word?).  Kyle got me this cute dressing maker from Target for Easter!  I combined 1T EVOO, 2T balsamic vinegar, 1t garlic, 1 squirt dijon mustard, and a pinch of salt.  It only made enough for the 2 salads.  I was impressed.  It gave the salad a nice kick!  Woooo POW!  You’ve been balsamic kicked…okay not really….
How cute!

The rest of our Monday night was devoted to the College World Series.  What a great game 1!  Kyle was really rooting for Florida.  Better luck tonight Gators.

Love and the berry patch, 
Carissa & Kyle
Comments
  1. >I'm pretty sure toasted pecans are the most delicious nuts- soooo good! I love sweet and savory salads 🙂

  2. >Thanks! The toasting of the nuts makes such a difference! I just always try to remember to pay attention to them to not burn them! And how bout glazed pecans! Those are amazing, but not too "healthy!"Thanks for the feedback!

Leave a comment