>Baked Healthy Crab Cakes

Posted: June 24, 2011 in recipes

>

Who wants a crap cake?


Seriously.  Hello text error. Whoopsie.

B…P…same thing?

My recent goal has been to make one “new” thing in the kitchen each week.  Something that uses a new recipe or ingredient to evolve my culinary repertoire.  


This week I decided to harness my East Coast roots and make a healthy crab cake.  The recipe was lightly adapted from Cook This, Not That and a blog called Sweet Tooth, Sweet Life.


I was pretty impressed with the way they turned out!  Also did you know that 3oz of lump crab has only 45 calories, 0 fat, and 12g of protein?  Holy healthfulness! Each cooked cake has around 240 calories and 3g of fat (less if you use egg white).


Baked “Crap” Crab Cakes with Mango Avocado Salsa

1 can (16 oz) jumbo lump crab meat
2 Tbsp minced jalapeno
2 scallions, chopped
1/2 cup minced red bell pepper
1 egg, lightly beaten (or egg white)
2 tsp Dijon mustard
Juice of 1 lemon
1/4 tsp Old Bay seasoning
1/2 tsp salt
3/4 cup bread crumbs

  • Preheat oven to 425
  • Mix everything besides 1/2 cup of breadcrumbs then use your hand to form a “patty”
  • Spread the remaining breadcrumbs on a plate and lightly coat each side
  • Place the coated breadcrumbs on a greased baking sheet and bake for  12 – 15 minutes or until brown
  • Serve with mango salsa

Mango Avocado Salsa


1 mango, peeled, pitted, and cubed
1 avocado pitted, peeled, and cubed
1/2 red onion, finely chopped
Juice of 1 lime
Chopped fresh cilantro
Salt and black pepper
  • Mix all ingredients and refrigerate
The hardest part of the meal for me was chopping the mango?  Who has some tips for me?  It was like the great mango massacre of 2011 up in my kitchen!

Love and crappy claws, 
Carissa & Kyle
Comments
  1. >I made crab cakes on Sunday! I had problems with them sticking together though.I agree, I probably eat half the mango everytime I make mango salsa.

Leave a Reply

