>Shingle Creek Staycation- Day 2

Posted: May 23, 2011 in date night, dining out, travel

>Day 2 of our wonderful Shingle Creek stay was AMAZING!  Like Top 20 best days EVER!  If you missed Day 1 make sure to go check it out.

Day 2 started with one of Kyle’s all time favorite things…..a breakfast buffet!  The boy can eat!  Have I told you this before?  And for some odd reason he loves breakfast food?  I’m the total opposite.  I never want to eat breakfast out.  I don’t see the value.  I also don’t like eggs or yogurt or bacon or sausage or lox.  Who likes lox?  Anyone?  That’s not 80+ living in New York? Bueller?  Bueller?


I digress.  Again I scored with a restaurant.com coupon for Cafe Osceola inside Shingle Creek so we nabbed 2 breakfast buffets and tip for $17!  Bling bling!


The buffet was plentiful and tasty.  I had an egg white omelet loaded with veggies and some ham, a plethora of fruit, 1/3 a pancake, and I even splurged for a croissant.

I think Kyle had 2 omelets, potatoes, home fries (which were apparently a different potato product from the first potato), bacon, biscuits and gravy, and A LOT of grapefruit and pineapple.  
Here’s a little healthy people crazy for you…..acidic fruits like grapefruit and pineapple allegedly help break down the fat you eat faster.  Bodybuilders call these “cutting agents”.  So we “think” if we eat these along with an insanely, awful for us meal then we won’t get fat!  haha! We’re pretty!

Kyle goes to the buffet.  Take 1.

After my breakfast bargain (bargain for wallet and not for waistline) we waddled out to the pool.  It was SUNNY!  And I was happy!


Before lunch we went to the lap pool.  Oh yes, Shingle Creek has 3 pools, didn’t you know?  We swam about 7 serious laps.  We both think the other is a “bad” swimmer.  Any input?  I think Kyle splashes too much and he just thinks I’m bad.  Sweet, huh!


This guy did NOT get the lap pool memo.  He’s swimming laps in the “quiet” pool. Jerk.  (jk)

Lunch was again at the Market Street Cafe.  Kyle has claimed this as his favorite sandwich place ever!  Ever!  In the history of life!  He likes the caveman-sized portions of meat.  Yabba Dabba Do!


Since I fell of the healthy eating wagon about 15,000 calories ago, I bought into the sandwich hoopla and had a Mediterranean panini and a Stella Artois.   When in Rome….or England….or wait- Belgium?  The panini had chicken, black olives, pesto, feta, and sundried tomatoes.  All favors I like.  Big hit!



Kyle had an enormous MAN-wich.  It was on a pretzel roll and it had pastrami, roast beef, cheese, lettuce, tomato, ect… He was a happy man!



And we got pickles!  Yeah pickles!  You are my friend!


After that we went up to the VIP lounge to snag some H2O. Gotta hydrate!  Then we settled in for a nap poolside!

I love you Shingle Creek.  I want to live here…ffffooorrreeevvvveeerrrrr.

Dinner to follow in another post!


Love and gluttony, 
Carissa & Kyle

Leave a Reply

