>Shingle Creek Staycation- Day 1

Posted: May 22, 2011 in date night, dining out, travel

>Things I love (and I mean REALLY love): 
going out to dinner
laying by a resort pool 
hanging out with my husband
red wine.  


Last weekend was fantastic because I got to do all of those things!







I am a big HUGE fan of the Rosen Shingle Creek Resort in Orlando.  I’m kinda partial because we did get engaged there, but it is gorgeous property that makes you feel like you’re a million miles away from O-town.

Flashback – December 31, 2008

We spent 2 nights there and did our fair share of laying by the pool and eating.


For those of you who live in Orlando can you tell me the last time it really rained???? Probably once in the past 6 weeks and it was during our staycation.  *sad face*

Rain, rain go away.Our pool time was cut short, but we enjoyed a libation at the Catails bar and then lunch at the Market Cafe.  



I knew a big dinner was coming so I opted for steamed veggies and Kyle took his appetite to the streets with the Cuban sandwich.  I had a bite- it was amazing!  The Rosen hotels use the highest quality ingredients and that was evident in the flavor.

Dinner was at one of Kyle’s favorite restaurants “A Land Remembered”.  And are you ready for this…I had a COUPON!  🙂  I used restaurant.com and bought a $75 gift certificate at 80% off.  I think I paid like $5 so I made $70 on the deal.  You have to read the restrictions to know if they’re really a good deal but ours worked out perfect.

Dinner time.


Dinner started with one of my all time faves- an heirloom tomato salad.  I also opted for French Onion soup since we had to spend $150 to use our gift certificate.

My favorite restaurant salad.


Now onto the main course (insert fancy schmancy music)


Kyle had the steak, duh!  A Land Remembered is known for their steak.  It’s from Harris Rosen’s ranch and is 5 Diamond Prime Beef.  Kyle went with the NY Strip cooked medium.



I had a much harder time choosing since I don’t do the beef.  It was a toss up between the chilean sea bass, salmon, or the scallops.  I went with a blackened chilean sea bass.  Can we say GOOD CHOICE!  It was one of the best fish I’ve had.  Sorry Roy’s. There was also mashed sweet potatoes and a cilantro buerre blanc sauce which I put on the side.

We skipped dessert at the restaurant and went to the VIP lounge for some dessert there.  Little red velvet cakes and cookies in chocolate.  And free!  Heehee!  A beautiful view from the 14th floor to end the night.


I love this hotel!


Love and staycation, 
Carissa & Kyle

Comments
  1. Victoria says:

    So, I actually took the bar at this hotel! All I could think about was how nice it was, but how I was having this totally traumatizing experience there with all of my classmates! Enjoying reading all of your links!

Leave a Reply

